Uncategorized

Goodbye days By Jeff Zentner (A kind of Review)

 

“Funny how people move through this world leaving little pieces of their story with the people they meet, for them to carry. Makes you wonder what’d happen if all those people put their puzzle pieces together.””

Synopsis:

Can a text message destroy your life?

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. Now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, there could be a criminal investigation into the deaths.

Then Blake’s grandmother asks Carver to remember her grandson with a ‘goodbye day’ together. Carver has his misgivings, but he starts to help the families of his lost friends grieve with their own memorial days, along with Eli’s bereaved girlfriend Jesmyn. But not everyone is willing to forgive. Carver’s own despair and guilt threaten to pull him under into panic and anxiety as he faces punishment for his terrible mistake. Can the goodbye days really help?

Review:

giphy-8

t’s been a couple of days since I finished this book and I’m still thinking about it the reason is that this book came in the right time for me. This book as you can tell from the synopsis talks about Grief & Death which is so hard to read about and I never told anyone in the internet about that but my grandfather passed away in January, I felt empty and sad after his death especially when I first entered his house and saw his empty seat I finally realized “This is true I’ll never see him again” or when I see Jane Eyre and remember that one of our last talks was about this book

“Now comes the hard part. When we can’t lose ourselves in regimented programs for our grief. When we’re alone with ourselves.”

I’m sorry if I’m making this very personal but this is how you know you found a good book when You realize that it touched your heart, When you find out that you’ll never be able ti describe your feelings like the book did. I‘m glad I found this book.

Carver (the main character) was such a sweetheart and his relationship with his sister is beautiful and I wished I had a friend like her. But Carver was a very very relatable character I truly felt sorry for him, His feeling of gelt was so real and the flashbacks he had made me laugh outloud (I was crying and then laughing in the next second while reading this book).

And please let me talk about the ending because it had me sobbing in public and then laughing like a mad person. The ending was heartbreaking and worming It was everything I dreamed of.

I can’t thank the author enough for writing this book and I truly hope that it helps more teens as it helped me .

One thought on “Goodbye days By Jeff Zentner (A kind of Review)

Leave a Reply

