books · Reviews

The sun is also a star *Book review

 

imageedit_5_7451268952.jpg

 We think we want all the time in the world with the people we love, but maybe what we need is the opposite. Just a finite amount of time, so we still think the other person is interesting . Maybe we don’t need acts two and three. Maybe love is best in act one.

Genre:Young Adult 

Author: Nicola Yoon

Release date: 3th Nov. 2016

capture

Synopsis

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

capture

Review

(Descalimer: I got this copy from the publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review so please don’t expect something less than honest)

19660036

This book was one of my favorite reads this year Because:

  1. A Jmaican girl who loves scientice and an Asian boy who loves peotry when obviously in the most of the Ya books/movies should be the opposite and that broves that girls can actually loves science and boys can actually write peotry and be romantic and can dream 9396284.gif

2. Highliting the problem of immigration and what’s home. specially with the problem of refugees these days and what happened in a certain country in a certain election A tragedy Ehm Ehm . The problem with Natasha is that she was born in Jumica but she lived in USA her whole life and people in America telling her that She don’t belong there because of some papers & Daniel who’s parents thinks that he is not Korean enough and his brother thinks that he’s so korean. and in this times many kids have these problems and this identity crisis and again I’m happe ’cause Nicola Yoon decided to write about that.

In the end, she chose both. Korean and American. American and Korean.
So they would know where they were from. So they would know where they were going.

14859120

3. OWN voices: Yes Nicola Yoon is jumican and her husband is Asian. We need divrsity in YA because the world we’re living in consists of people from all races and cultures and we need to show the un educated people that racism isn’t the right thing. aceptting all humans is the right thing.

4. The writing style: I’ll just insert a Gif instead of writing 12050291

But I had some little issues

Insta love:

  1. At first it was cute but then it was too much, I don’t take someone to meet my parents after meeting him for 2 hours just not realistic.

if the writer just said that they were at school or meet before it would be okay but I thnk that served the story any way.

2. The story had a chance but the two characters were unrealistic

Natasha: Too much Natasha, We can’t mesure feelings with science. I understand that you’re a scientific person but I just thought it was too much. 

Daniel: Following a stranger in the street isn’t a good thing to do Daniel BUT IF IT WAS YOUR SOUL MATE then that’s okay TBH I want a Daniel in my life, He’s so cute tumblr_inline_nywbdmbvwv1rdych8_500

Over all It was a good book and I recommend it if you wnt a light read

Rating: 4/5

Best Quote 


their whole lives looking for love. Poems and songs and entire novels are written about it. But how can you trust something that can end as suddenly as it begins?


4 thoughts on “The sun is also a star *Book review

  1. I’m glad you liked this one so much!! I totally agree with your review *nods* and the diversity was epic and spot on and so special. ❤ I really struggled with the instalove though. So I'm glad I'm not alone in thinking it was a bit awkward. I mean, I guess science has proven you can fall in love that fast but…yikes. It doesn't read very well.🙈🙊 Although they still were cute together!

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes the instalove make me cringe a little bit but the writing style was amazing and it was a very light read. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy it as much as I did but I’m glad that you’re agreeing on my review 😍

    Like

Leave a Reply

